Festival Players have received the National Operatic and Dramatic Association (NODA) award for ‘Best Musical’ on 3 occasions:

2002 for ‘Oklahoma’

2006 for ‘The Scarlet Pimpernel’

2017 for ‘Return to the Forbidden Planet’

Our 2017 Production of ‘Dirty Rotten Scoundrels’ was nominated for a ‘Best Musical’ award – that’s the 3rd year running we’ve been nominated!

We also present our members with awards in recognition of their contribution to the society:

Jen Webster was the inaugural recipient of the Tommy Thomas Award (seen on the left with the man himself), chosen by our MD for her contribution to the musical quality of ‘Cats’ .

Andrea Birdwood won the Roy Braybrooke Award, chosen by her fellow cast members, in recognition of her sterling efforts on behalf of the show beyond her outstanding on-stage contribution. Well done to both!

The Tom Farrell Award. Voted for by the committee and any member of the main show cast is eligible, given to someone whose positivity, spirit and good nature has contributed to the society during the year. The 2017 winner was Caleb Plant. Caleb joined the cast of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels at the last minute, having had his arm a little twisted by his Mum (who also happened to be the choreographer!). He threw himself into the show with enthusiasm, willingness and a great spirit onstage and off, and so is a deserving winner in the true spirit of the award.