Cast and Member Awards

Matt Hall was the 2019 winner of the Tommy Thomas Award. A dedicated and hugely popular member of the cast of ‘Evita’, he was chosen by Musical Director Paul Garner for his contribution to the musical quality of the show

Matt Hall (right) receives the Tommy Thomas Award from musical director Paul Garner

The Roy Braybrooke Award is voted for by the main-show cast, and for 2019 it went to costume designer Liz Milway for her amazing work on the wardrobe of Evita. The quality of her designs and outfits was remarked on by many in the audience, and all done on a challenging budget!

Evita’s Costume Designer Liz Milway with the Roy Braybrooke Award

The Tom Farrell Award. Voted for by the committee and any member of the society is eligible, given to someone whose positivity, spirit and good nature has contributed to the society during the year. The 2019 recipient is Laurie-Lee McDowell. As choreographer Laurie-Lee did a tremendous job in bringing the 2019 touring show “Someone in the Crowd” together with her fellow creatives. Her boundless energy, dedication and unfailingly sunny outlook were fully reflected in the cast performances and she continues to be a very popular and active member of the society.

Past Winners

Tommy Thomas Award – Awarded by the MD of the main show to a member of the cast

2019 (Evita)Matt Hall
2018 (Cats)Jen Webster

Ray Braybrooke Award – Voted on by the cast of the main show to recognise a member of the show’s company, crew or production team

2019 (Evita)Liz Milway
2018 (Cats)Andrea Birdwood
2017 (Dirty Rotten Scoundrels) Alison Buckingham
2016 (Legally Blonde)Matt Hawksworth
2015 (Secret Garden) Phoebe Poulter-Kerry-Sinclair, Grace Ellis, Arun Austin & Bill Stanley
2014 (Godspell) James Dowson
2013 (Parade) Jenny Hinchliffe & Mark McCormack
2012 (Hot Mikado) Suzanne Emerson
2011 (The Producers) Liz Milway & Alastair Horne

Tom Farrell Award – Awarded by the committee to a society member whose positivity, spirit and good nature has contributed to the society during the year.

2019Laurie-Lee McDowell
2018Mike Webster
2017Caleb Plant
2016Davinia Fisher
2015Dan Lane
2014Michael Husband
2013Joe Griffiths